top of page

The Origin of Michael Lettman's Interest in Pokemon!

Updated: 1 day ago

Hi Everyone,


I, Michael Lettman, would like to explain my long-time and unique kind of interest in Pokemon with this blog post known as "The Origin of Michael Lettman's Interest in Pokemon"!



Ever since I've gotten interested in Pokemon (during it's Generation IV series known as Pocket Monsters: Diamond & Pearl), I've started to play it's video games (by the Nintendo DS family) with my own "different" kind of way to play those games.


Please click on "Pokemon Trainer Satoshi (Ash)" image below to visit an autism info on the Creator of Pokemon.

My Thanks to Satoshi Tajiri


I cannot believe that it took me until 2019 to learn that the creator of Pokemon is on the Autism Spectrum (+ just like me, he's a High-Functioning Autistic). I'm very grateful to Satoshi Tajiri for creating something (from his Autism and Childhood Hobby) that the world has been enjoying for years which shows that someone from the autistic community can bring great happiness to the world. Although it only took me until Generation IV to enjoy Pokemon just like everyone else, I'm glad to be enjoying it now (in my own "different" way). I'm happy for all of Satoshi's hard work on his creation which had made him into the Successful Creator of Pokemon that we all know.


From my perspective, there's a main goal of the Pokemon Games which is to catch all kinds of Pokemon to fill in the regional Pokedex which is similar to Satoshi Tajiri collecting all kinds of bugs back in his childhood. I'm sure The Creator of Pokemon is happy for everyone across the world catching many Pokemon from their Pokemon Games and other features like "Pokemon GO" (which is on mobile phones).


2021's World Autism Awareness Month: Since Satoshi Tajiri is like an inspiration to advocates like me, I was more than happy to do a presentation about him and his successful creation for World Autism Acceptance Month in 2021, Please Enjoy!




Please click on "Pikachu & Eievui (Eevee)" image below to visit the Pokemon Website if you like.

When did Michael Lettman started getting into Pokemon?


During Generation IV (Pokemon Diamond & Pearl), I've watched the episodes from 1-24 (dubbed) on TV regularly. During one time while I was on the internet, I've found Pokemon Diamond & Pearl episodes on a video website (I think it was called livevideo or something). I think they were all the same amount of episodes that I've watched & seen on TV, except for one that looked like an episode that I've never seen before & it was a Japanese version - DP040: Enter Champion Shirona.


When I decided to watch that Japanese episode of DP040, it felt kinda new that I was watching something in Japanese even though I didn't understand the Japanese language. Somehow I've felt some amazement & excitement as I was watching the episode, it was so good that I've wanted to watch more of those episodes even if it's in Japanese. Eventually I've founded more Pokemon Diamond & Pearl episodes in Japanese & have been watching them up into the time that PocketMonsters Fansubs started to add English Subtitles to the episodes. It was also during the time that I've discovered the Bulbapedia website & it became a useful site to visit when researching episodes of the Pokemon anime.


I'm sure that the work of PocketMonsters Fansubs had made me enjoy watching the rest of "Pocket Monsters: Diamond & Pearl" even more, all way to the very end of it & Pokemon Trainer Satoshi has done well finishing in the Best Four of the Sinnoh League. So it was during the time of watching "Pocket Monsters: Diamond & Pearl" that I've officially gotten into liking Pokemon.



The Life of Michael Lettman's enjoyment with Pokemon


When I (Michael Lettman) first started playing my 1st Pokemon game (Pokemon Pearl), I enjoyed it at first then developed a feeling that playing it (the regular way like anyone else that plays video games), has ended up being not so much fun for myself. So as I finished playing my 1st Pokemon game & eventually started getting a lot more interested in Pokemon (during it's Generation IV series), I came up with my very own "different" kind of way to play my Pokemon Games. A way for me to have some fun & enjoyment with those kind of Pokemon games. I started trying out that new way with Pokemon Platinum & it didn't work out much since there were a lot of flaws occurring during the time but I still had a feeling that I'll have much more fun & enjoyment with Pokemon Games using my "different" way.


Officially liking Pokemon from watching Ash Ketchum's journey since Generation IV had inspired me to wanna experience a journey like that (from an anime) by aiming to enjoy the story/adventure of aiming to become a Pokemon League Champion which I've been doing with my Nintendo Pokemon Games.


Since there's usually 2 sets of Pokemon Games throughout the years, I've decided to only want 1 of 2 sets. If I bought both kind of sets then it would have felt a little too much for me so I only prefer 1 of 2 sets of Nintendo's Pokemon Games.


After receiving a chosen starter Pokemon as my ace/number-one partner, I slowly enjoy following along the story/gameplay of a Pokemon game to experience the journey like the actual player character (or a protagonist like Satoshi/Ash Ketchum) + it sometimes gives me the feeling of interacting with the game counterparts of those from the Pokemon anime. I always having fun in aiming to become a Pokemon League Champion during a journey and accomplishing that at the very end.


I don't like to use items during a battle since I'd like to win my battles just like the Pokemon anime battles (with no items used). Besides aiming to catch a Pokemon in the wild, I don't like using more than one Pokemon than my opponents has during my battles (which'd be an unfair advantage) as I mostly prefer to win my battles just like most ones in the Pokemon anime battles (with an even advantage). I prefer not finish off opponents’ Pokemon in One-Hit KOs during battle because I like to be fair in letting the opponents’ side have a chance to attack before giving my side the perfect moment to attack. The only way I'd use full power with my Pokemon Friends is when facing wild Pokemon to do some training or facing opponents that are too strong for me. I can guess that I ended up having this kind of feeling from watching Pokemon Battles in the real anime which sometimes hardly has any short battling with a trainer finishing off an opponent’s Pokemon with just 1 strong or super-effective move (exactly like One-Hit KOs) which can happen from battling within Pokemon Games.


I really don't wanna displease the Creator of Pokemon but I definitely don't deserve to be a real Pokemon Trainer in our real world because I don't interact with other trainers from across the world (I wouldn't want to use any Wi-Fi connections during my journeys) as I'd prefer to go solo with my own Pokemon Friends. I chose not to change my usual player character style from clothing stores within Pokemon Games, I don't ever play Pokemon mobile apps like "Pokemon Masters Ex" or even "Pokemon GO, and worst of all, I'm definitely not a Pokemon Trainer who'll fill up a regional Pokedex because I ended up didn't like the feeling of having "too much" Pokemon especially from when deciding which Pokemon Friends shall be on hand or not during a journey which can be a little too complicated for me.


Gift Pokemon: Even though I can catch any Pokemon friend that I'd like to have on my team, I mostly enjoy receiving a Pokemon from someone during a journey which always gives me a good feeling of being a trainer. However if there was a possibility of obtaining a lot of Gift Pokemon at once (even from someone) during a journey, I most likely would reduce into receiving only 1 Gift Pokemon at once. Even though I don't do Pokemon Breeding, I really do enjoy receiving a Pokemon Egg during a journey which always gives me a good feeling of looking forward what kind of Pokemon will hatch (like those in the Pokemon anime).


As the years passed of using my "different" way to play my Pokemon Games, I've had lots of fun & enjoyment playing "Pokemon White Version", "Pokemon White Version (2)", & "Pokemon Y", although there were some flaws & struggles during those times. Since then, I've been learning much on how to make my "different" way more fun & more enjoyable which eventually became my only way to have fun & enjoyment with Pokemon Games (from the Nintendo DS family) as I'd like to declare it as my Private Pokemon Time.



The "Different" Way (My Private Pokemon Time)


I used my imagination from within my own head (which also makes me feel young again) to pretend that I'm in my own anime (just like Ash Ketchum) of going out on a journey into the World of Pokemon to aim to become a Pokemon League Champion with my Pokemon Friends (which felt like having a goal). I pretend that I'm talking to viewers with announcements for my fake anime from inside my own head (which makes me feel like a narrator). I pretend that the male player character in a Pokemon game is Pokemon Trainer Michael as the main protagonist in my own fake anime that I view within my own imagination.


When I'm ready to play a Pokemon game (from the Nintendo DS family), I need to be in a nearly silence area to focus & to get started or proceed with my journey. Sometimes if I hear anything on the outside of my imagination, my repeating habit goes off which frustrates me a bit (although that habit goes off even when it is quiet). That habit makes me unfocused & makes me repeat myself a bit during the enjoyment of my journey. Not just hearing stuff from the outside of my imagination, there are other interruptions that gets in the way of me trying to concentrate on my journey like people showing up around my chosen area or calling me to do stuff which can be understandable.


Whenever there's anything that gets in my way of enjoying my journey like errors (things are not going as I wanted to do for my journey), struggles (having a hard time trying to enjoy my journey), or interruptions (interference from outside my imagination during my journey), then I just had to try to continue finishing up on parts of my journey before I get too bothered (even after I had already pressed the save button) or if I didn't press the save button yet then it would be OK for me to cancel until the next time that I can get another chance.


"Imaginary Episodes": I have a name that I sometimes like to call the parts of my journeys within my Pokemon games, which is "Imaginary Episodes" that I view from within my own imagination. They're for preparing myself for the next fun part of my journey which makes it a little more enjoyable for me. Usually by the end of a part of my journey (known as an "Imaginary Episode"), I happily press the save button & finished up for until the next part in proceeding with my journey.


"Un-Save Researching": I confess that there is a good use of playing a Pokemon game regularly like everyone else and that is called "Un-Save Researching". To have Pokemon Trainer Michael prepared for what comes next on a journey (as an "Imaginary Episode" to view in my head), I end up playing a Pokemon game regularly to witness what shall happen on the journey (as a way of researching) but I don't EVER press the "save" button during the time, so that I can turn the game off to go straight back to where Pokemon Trainer Michael was at from the last "save" (like a reset button), that way I can properly prepare for what Pokemon Trainer Michael shall experience on a current journey of his. From what I've been learning during my own research, if I were to play a Pokemon game regularly then I admit that using items and even using more than one Pokemon during battles would be necessary since there were times when I was unprepared to face strong opponents who would force me to use more than one Pokemon and I would just use items just to see what occurs after a battle during a journey, as long as I don't press the "save" button which would be CRUSHING for me on the inside as I'd prefer the journeys to be saved through my "different" way not the regular way.


Mostly I would be in a good mood after having much fun & enjoyment with my journey into the World of Pokemon, thanks to my Private Pokemon Time as it gives me the feeling of watching an anime of a Pokemon Trainer named Michael going on a journey to become a Pokemon League Champion with the Pokemon friends that he'll raise with love & care, which is kinda like watching Pokemon Trainer Satoshi (Ash) on his journey to become a Pokemon Master with his Pokemon Friends (especially his partner Pikachu) in the real Pokemon anime.



The Starter Pokemon choosing for Pokemon Trainer Michael


I try to figure out which of the starter Pokemon was chosen by the Male Player Character that I play as (in my Pokemon Games) then that Male Player Character's starter Pokemon get chosen by Pokemon Trainer Michael to travel with on his journey to become a Pokemon League Champion. After learning about a trainer's anime & game counterparts, I've also decided to have that help me with choosing the starter Pokemon for Pokemon Trainer Michael on his journeys.


Pokemon Platinum (Lucas) = Chimchar: After learning that Rival Trainer Barry's anime counterpart had a Empoleon (the final evolved form of Piplup), it made Pokemon Trainer Michael decide to choose Chimchar as his Sinnoh Starter Pokemon so that Barry's game counterpart would choose Piplup as his starter Pokemon.


Pokemon White Version (Hilbert) = Oshawott: After learning that Rival Trainer Bianca's anime counterpart had an Emboar (the final evolved form of Tepig), it made Pokemon Trainer Michael decide to choose Oshawott as his Unova Starter Pokemon so that Bianca's game counterpart would choose Tepig as her starter Pokemon.


Pokemon White Version 2 (Nate) = Tepig: Watching Pokemon Black 2 & White 2 animated trailer had definitely helped with the decision on the 2-years-later Unova Starter Pokemon as the Male Protagonist Nate had an Emboar which made Pokemon Trainer Michael decide to choose Tepig.


Pokemon Y (Calem) = Chespin & Charmander: After learning that Rival Trainer Serena's anime counterpart had chosen Fennekin as her starter Pokemon, it made Pokemon Trainer Michael decide to choose Chespin as his Kalos Starter Pokemon so that Serena's game counterpart would choose Fennekin as her starter Pokemon. I had a hunch that Calem's Kanto Starter Pokemon would be Charmander which was why Pokemon Trainer Michael had chosen it & after watching Pokemon Generations: The Redemption, it made me happy to discover that Pokemon Trainer Michael had chosen the correct starter Pokemon after seeing Calem's Chesnaught & Charizard.


Pokemon Alpha Sapphire (Brendan) = Treecko: It was thanks to watching Pokemon Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire Animated Trailer that Pokemon Trainer Michael's Hoenn Starter Pokemon was decided to be Treecko after seeing Brendan's Mega Sceptile.


Pokemon Moon (Elio) = Litten: At first, I had some trouble deciding on Pokemon Trainer Michael's Alola Starter Pokemon. After watching some of Pokemon Sun & Moon's game trailers, I can only assume that Eilo's Starter Pokemon was Litten. Which made Pokemon Trainer Michael decide to choose it & after eventually discovering that Rival Trainer Hau's anime counterpart had a Decidueye (the final evolved form of Rowlet), which was the Pokemon that his game counterpart had chosen after Pokemon Trainer Michael's choice, it made me happy to have found out that the right choice was made from choosing the Alola Region's Fire-Type Starter Pokemon.


Pokemon Ultra Moon (Elio) = Litten: At first, It ended up being a long delay from a lot of pondering so risky research was needed for the decision on Pokemon Trainer Michael's Alola Starter Pokemon (for Pokemon Ultra Moon) but I never realized that Elio was the same Male Player Character for Ultra Sun & Ultra Moon meaning that Pokemon Trainer Michael's Alola Starter Pokemon (for Pokemon Ultra Moon) was actually the same one in Pokemon Moon, which was (once again) Alola's Fire-Type Starter Pokemon, Litten.


Pokemon Shield (Victor) = Sobble: The Generation VIII episode of Pokemon Evolutions (which allowed me to see Victor's Inteleon & Hop's Cinderace) had helped out with the Galar Starter Pokemon for Pokemon Trainer Michael, which was Galar's Water-Type Starter Pokemon, Sobble.


I'd be okay with any starter Pokemon that I choose to travel with me on my journeys within the World of Pokemon, which may be a similar feeling that Ash Ketchum has (since he had other starter Pokemon in past generations). So I'm very grateful to the trainers' anime & game counterparts as well as the player characters for helping Pokemon Trainer Michael with his starter Pokemon choosing.



Michael's Original Journey Endings


For a long time, I've been thinking about how Pokemon might end when Ash Ketchum finally completed his goal to become a Pokemon Master or winning a Pokemon League Conference. That's 1 of the reasons why I've decided to erase a Pokemon game every time that I've finished a journey after reaching my goal to become a Pokemon League Champion. That way, I can replay my old journeys by the time "Pokemon" reaches its end (& I'll surely miss it as much as millions of Pokemon fans will) or should I say when Ash Ketchum finally becomes a Pokemon Master.


I was already aware of other things that I can do after winning a Pokemon League in a Pokemon Game but it seems like after seeing the game credits (upon winning a Pokemon League), it feels like the journey had ended for Pokemon Trainer Michael & he must continue on towards an upcoming new journey within a new Pokemon game. So usually after I've completed my goal to become Pokemon League Champion with my well-trained Pokemon Friends, I keep the finished game as the way it is for some weeks & then eventually erase it. Although I can be crestfallen that a recent journey of mine has ended & I had to say goodbye to it but I do still keep the game itself for the next time that I replay it to continue having a fun journey within the World of Pokemon.



Pokemon Trainer Michael before challenging the Kalos Region's Pokemon League
Pokemon Trainer Michael (from Pokemon Y)

During the end of Michael's original journey within Pokemon Y


One day when I was thought I was ready to challenge the Kalos Region's Pokemon League, I ended up going too far on that day. I managed to defeat the Elite Four but I ended up struggling with the game counterpart of Champion Diantha which leads to my big mistake. It was because of wanting to finish my battle with Champion Diantha's game counterpart that I ended up having a hard time with the final part of my Kalos journey. I've been struggling in that battle for so long that I went into the basement & stayed down there ALL NIGHT trying to finish it while everyone was sleeping. That caused my Grandmother Guardian to call me a few times to RIGHTFULLY go to bed & I chose NOT TO LISTEN until I was done.


By Sunrise, I finally "finished" it, I finally ended that "Imaginary Episode", & I finally gone back upstairs to go to sleep. A lot of well-deserved errors, struggles, & interruptions had happened during that "Imaginary Episode" so I'm not frustrated about my planning for that "Imaginary Episode". After what I've done, I declare that my Grandmother Guardian deserved to be mad at me & I deserved to be extremely drowsy. I did feel bad of not trying out an interesting feature known as Pokemon-Amie throughout my entire Kalos journey. I've learned at the very end that Pokemon-Amie definitely would've helped me with becoming a good trainer to my Pokemon Friends. I'm certain that not using Pokemon-Amie had lead to all of my struggling when I was facing Diantha (& didn't get to enjoy that final Pokemon League battle). It had taught me that I didn't deserve to become a Pokemon League Champion during my original journey in the Kalos Region for not treating my Kalos Pokemon Friends with trust & love (when I thought was). Was I ever ashamed & bothered with myself because of my so-called planning but I really learn very important lessons from my big mistakes with my "different" way & it was one of the many reasons that I didn't mind erasing my Pokemon Y.


My Time with Pokemon Alpha Sapphire


During the time with the release of Pokemon Omega Ruby & Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, I went out to purchase one of those games & I've chosen Pokemon Alpha Sapphire. Since I was still in the middle of my time with Pokemon Y so I decided to not play with my Pokemon Alpha Sapphire yet. Unfortunately due to hard-learned lessons that I had to deal with during the end of my Pokemon Y, I ended up not playing my Pokemon Alpha Sapphire for many months since I bought it. It was during Summer 2017 that I FINALLY started my journey within Pokemon Alpha Sapphire.


Thanks to hard-learned lessons that I've learned (from Pokemon Y) along with new ways of having my Private Pokemon Time, I've managed to have had a great journey in the Hoenn Region of Pokemon Alpha Sapphire (despite some errors & interruptions that I had to deal with) along with completing that journey within February 2018. Even though it was all erased, this journey was the first-ever one to be partly recorded using my PS Vita's Camera.


I did save a few memories involving my original final challenge in the Hoenn Pokemon League, Please Enjoy!




My Time with Pokemon Moon


After finishing up with my Hoenn Journey in Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, I was all set for Generation VII by starting out with Pokemon Sun & Moon (& of course I'll only choose one of them). I've chosen Pokemon Moon as the game to have my Alolan journey which has started out in March 2018. I've managed to have enjoyed a wonderful journey in the Alola Region within my Pokemon Moon & managed to have finished that journey in the end of June 2018.


Just like my Pokemon Alpha Sapphire, I managed to record parts of this journey with my PS Vita's Camera & of course, it was all erased. There was also the old anticipation of my journey within Pokemon Ultra Moon.


I did save a few memories involving my original 3rd Grand Trial in the Island Challenge, Please Enjoy!




My Restart with Pokemon Platinum (My Very 1st Official Pokemon Journey)


During Generation VII & after learning Pokemon has moved on to the Nintendo Switch, I wasn't sure if I wasn't ready to enjoy the only remaining new journey from the Nintendo 3DS family (Pokemon Ultra Moon) which I haven't started playing yet. So I've decided to restart my 1st official journey of when I begun liking Pokemon known as My Generation IV Game: Pokemon Platinum. During the restarted Sinnoh journey, It felt like I've gotten a little better enjoying the journey then when I first went on my Generation IV Journey a long time ago.


As of June 2020, I've managed to finished my restarted Sinnoh journey as well as winning the Sinnoh Region's Pokemon League & I've decided to not erase it for now so I can know what lies ahead for Pokemon Trainer Michael in the future. Since most of my finished Sinnoh journey was partly recorded by my PS Vita's Camera then were eventually deleted after some of the journey were re-recorded & published onto My Project's Channel as memories of when I started liking Pokemon during Generation IV.


This video has the final moments of my Sinnoh journey when I was facing Champion Cynthia's game counterpart during my final challenge in the Sinnoh Pokemon League, Please Enjoy!




My Time with Pokemon Ultra Moon (My Final Journey within the Nintendo DS family)


As of August 2021, I, Michael Lettman, finally got started with my final Pokemon journey within the world of the Nintendo DS family, which is Pokemon Ultra Moon. After a few years of patience from being very occupied, I’ve never been happy to have finally got started in getting back on my path within the World of Pokemon as Pokemon Trainer Michael to continue with my goal of becoming a Pokemon League Champion in my own “Different” way.


As of July 2022, I have FINALLY completed my journey within Pokemon Ultra Moon & (similar with my restarted Pokemon Platinum) I've decided not to have it all erased (except the game itself) since this journey felt so great as it was my final one within the family of when I first started playing Pokemon games, Nintendo DS/3DS. As usual, most of the journey were partly recorded by my PS Vita's Camera which resulted in low-quality images & error-filled video recordings but they're still good memories of that Alolan journey.


1st-Ever Documentation: Since this journey felt very important to me, I've decided to have it documented (word by word), which felt like making my own plots of described anime episodes although they're just imaginary plot additions to my Pokemon Ultra Moon walkthrough (which I hope makes sense to others) from the "different" way that I enjoy my journey within the World of "Pokemon". As a result of the documentation, my own brand of Poke Problems were made up (like the "Poke Problems" of the real Pokemon anime's Gen VII episodes), many notes in lesson & detail were made (maybe like "Trivia" of the real Pokemon anime episodes), errors from this journey were described (maybe like "Errors" of the real Pokemon anime episodes), & imaginary UM episodes (from 01 to 46) were plotted.



After watching SM139 (National Ash Ketchum Day)


To be honest, I originally discovered the surprising result of the Alola League Finals from research on SM139 (by Bulbapedia) during the day that episode aired in Japan - September 15, 2019 (I was away with the Sprout organization on that day) which became dedicated as an annual celebration known as National Ash Ketchum Day.


I was really surprised to discover that Ash Ketchum had managed to win the first-ever Pokemon League in the Alola Region & the Pokemon franchise still proceeded into Generation VIII.


When I first learned about Generation VIII, I actually thought that Ash Ketchum was gonna lose in the finals (just like what occurred in Generation VI) but at the end of that battle, I saw that I was wrong. Ash Ketchum really did continue with his journey (into Generation VIII) even after winning a Pokemon League Conference when I was always thought that Pokemon would end after something like that happened which was why I've been originally erasing my Pokemon games containing my finished journeys after completing my goal of winning a Pokemon League which I NOW started to regret doing for a long time even if there were flaws and interruptions to get used to.


Thinking about what I've done to all my original journeys (after their endings) made me felt bad enough to BAN from watching the episode itself (including SM140) until on a day within September 2020 and now that I've finally watched it, I really got to enjoy seeing THE victory at the Alola League Manalo Conference with my own eyes.


Since then, I've been thinking about the ways that I've kept erasing my journeys that had all of the original finished enjoyment & hard work that I've went through with my Pokemon Friends (that sadly have gotten erased also). I've started to regret what I've done to my journeys (& my own Pokemon Friends) since I've learned a lot from my experiences within the World of Pokemon. I've been training with Pokemon Friends in my own "different" way to face our challenges that we've conquered together to reach our goal then I ended up erasing them away just because of the unhappy feeling that I've had of Pokemon eventually coming to an end (& I don't even know when that shall end up happening). Sometimes I feel like that I still have a lot to learn to enjoy being a Pokemon Trainer aiming to become a Pokemon League Champion (in my own "different" way).



Michael Lettman's "BAN" from new episodes of the Pokemon anime (Fall 2019 to Fall 2022)


To be honest (since Fall 2019), I ended up putting myself in a "BAN" from watching new Pokemon episodes due to misjudgments that I've had about SM139 & having 1 journey left to enjoy within the Nintendo DS family which also resulted in placing another addition to my "BAN", not playing any Pokemon games within the Nintendo Switch family.


Originally (& technically) during Generation VII, the last new Pokemon episode that I ever watched was SM138 which got me curious about the Alola League finals. It was after researching SM139 (during the day of its premiere) that I've felt ashamed enough by my misjudgments of that episode to "BAN" myself from watching any other new Pokemon episodes (before SM139) & not be ready for Generation VIII yet but I did allow myself to finally watch SM139 & SM140 during Fall 2020 (I've had the patience to wait almost a year for viewing only those 2 episodes).


As a long-time result by my "BAN", I haven't watched the end of Generation VII (from SM141 to SM146) & I haven't watched a single episode of Generation VIII ever since its beginning which all resulted in me not seeing so much anticipating major eventful episodes that I've been looking forward to watch = the exhibition 6-on-6 full battle between Professor Kukui (his anime counterpart) & Alola's Champion Ash Ketchum, the journey of Ash Ketchum & Goh throughout Generation VIII, Goh's participation in Project Mew, & Ash Ketchum's participation in the Pokemon World Coronation Series.


Since I had no idea that the 7-episode Pokemon Twlight Wings series & PokeToon Episode 3 (PT03) were Generation VIII-related (when I've watched them), I had to accept a confirmed error to my "BAN" that I've enjoyed a little excitement from Generation VIII but I haven't watched M23, the 3-episode Pokemon Legends Arceus series, & Pokemon Evolutions Episode 1 (PE01) at the time, so they might've been considered added into my "BAN".


I said to myself that the only way I can UN-"BAN" myself was to enjoy my final journey within the Nintendo DS family (Pokemon Ultra Moon) so I could experience what Ash Ketchum had experienced during SM139 = Becoming Alola's first-ever Champion.


I made a vow to keep myself patiently occupied while I'm waiting to be ready to UN-"BAN" myself so even though I haven't watched the actual episodes of Generation VIII, I said to myself that it was still okay for me to research those episodes on Bulbapedia since it had always been an excellent way for me to follow along Ash Ketchum's journey. I also still allowed myself to watch the weekly episode previews (& trailers of upcoming Generation VIII episodes) on Pokemon's Official Japanese YouTube Channel. I may have kept myself in a "BAN" from Pokemon episodes (before SM141) but I did allowed myself to make an exception on the Pokemon Wiki website to see image galleries of some Generation VIII episodes which technically still doesn't count in watching a single Generation VIII episode since what I've viewed were images.


As of May 2022, I'm afraid that I've ended up increasing my "BAN" much further which resulted in me officially putting a stop to researching new episodes on Bulbapedia (after the airing of JN110), putting a stop to viewing the image galleries on Pokemon Wiki, & putting a stop to visiting Pokemon's Official Japanese YouTube Channel (even Pokemon's Official YouTube Channel also). It was all due to wanting to be ready in following along an inspiring tale from Generation VII = The Story of Mohn (his anime counterpart).


During Generation VII, I actually liked viewing Lillie's & Gladion's anime counterparts wanting to find their long-lost father despite my "BAN" kept me from watching the end of Generation VII (which includes SM145 & SM146), I was looking forward to be ready to UN-"BAN" myself to continue following that tale with my own eyes. When I first saw the title of an upcoming episode known as JN111, I said to myself that I cannot be ready for even a glimpse of a Pokemon episode having a really big part of the inspiring story from Generation VII. Which was how I ended up boosting my "BAN" since May 2022 but despite that (& many months of being filled up with huge amounts of anticipation), I was highly determined to be ready to UN-"BAN" myself in order to catch up with so-much excitement from the Pokemon franchise.


The End of Michael Lettman's "BAN": As of Summer 2022, I've finished up with my journey within Pokemon Ultra Moon thus was FINALLY ready to UN-"BAN" myself to enjoy what I've been anticipating since Fall 2019. With my "BAN" lifted, I FINALLY got to enjoy the exhibition 6-on-6 full battle between Professor Kukui (his anime counterpart) & Alola's Champion Ash Ketchum, Pokemon Evolutions Episode 1 (PE01), M23, the 3-episode Pokemon Legends Arceus series, & the journey of Ash Ketchum & Goh throughout Generation VIII + FINALLY got back to researching new episodes on Bulbapedia (after the airing of JN110), viewing the image galleries on Pokemon Wiki, & visiting Pokemon's Official Japanese YouTube Channel (even Pokemon's Official YouTube Channel).



My Time with Pokemon Shield (My 1st-Ever Journey within the Nintendo Switch family)


After learning about Generation VIII: Originally after I've learned the news about Generation VIII - Pokemon Sword and Shield + watching some of their trailers, I can understand that Pokemon had to move on from the Nintendo DS family to the Nintendo Switch family. It made me believe that Satoshi Tajiri, Game Freak, & the Pokemon Company would want the world to continue enjoying their adventures with the World of Pokemon as Pokemon Trainers in upcoming generations.


As of the end of 2022 (after lifting my "BAN"), I finally got to enjoy my 1st-ever journey into the World of Pokemon from within the Nintendo Switch family by my 1st-ever Nintendo Switch game = Pokemon Shield, which started in July 2023 & ended in March 2024.



After learning about Generation IX


After watching the 1st-ever trailer, was I both happy & astounded that the Pokemon franchise shall proceed into its Generation IX (via Pokemon Scarlet and Violet). Unfortunately due to my boosted "BAN" during May 2022, I kept myself from watching any other trailers of that generation until I was able to UN-"BAN" myself, which FINALLY occurred during September 2022 thus became fascinated with the wonders of the Paldea region. I'll look forward to the zest that Generation IX shall spread to the world (especially by its own anime series).


Goodbye "Satoshi"/Ash Ketchum & his Pikachu: Like many Pokemon Fans across the world, I shall miss the Pokemon Trainer & his ace Pokemon who've pleased us all for up to 8 generations (since the 90s). As a result, I've ended up yet in another "BAN" of not ready to watch the final 10 episodes (Aim to be a Pokemon Master) of the Pokemon anime's 2 long-time protagonists until further notice. Although I'm able to understand that Pokemon can still be enjoyed in the future even after the departure of a young Pokemon Master & his number one partner (who'll always be remembered as World Champions of the Pokemon World).


Hello Liko & Roy: Since its premiere, I've been settling-in from enough research on the Pokemon anime's Gen IX series (for up to a year) but haven't watched it yet at the time. It was after finishing my Gen VIII journey but I began watching the series during Autism Awareness Month (April) of 2024 + that's also around the time of its 1st anniversary when it premiered in April 2023. In addition with allowing myself to enjoy Liko & Roy, I'll be counting on those new protagonists to boost my anticipation for my upcoming Gen IX journey, which may start by 2025 since I'm currently taking a much-needed break from Pokemon games.


Welcome Protagonists of the Pokemon anime's Generation IX series

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page