top of page

A guest post by Margot

Hi,


This is a guest post by Margot.


I do not have autism so I don’t speak for everyone who has autism. I’m a disability advocate and filmmaker with Cerebral Palsy. Cerebral Palsy is a physical disability. I make films about disabled people under the name Crip Video Productions. www.cripvideoproductions.com “Crip” is a slang term that is a shortened version of the word cripple. The term cripple has a history of being offensive. However the word "Crip" is not meant to be offensive. The word “Crip" is meant to empower fellow disabled people. I make independent short films “Drama Sighted” “Only Those Who Limp Allowed” and “Crips Not Creeps” and “A Stroke Of Endurance” are the films I have made so far. I advocate for all people with disabilities.


Though the outreach work I do with my films I have met filmmakers, actors, college students, entrepreneurs, and advocates on the autism spectrum, so I was happy to meet Michael on a Zoom call about higher education for disabled students. I was very happy to see all of Michael’s work for the autism community. Like Michael, all of the people I personally know who have autism are very kind, empathetic, capable, and intelligent so it is a pleasure to know them.


In my experience if you just treat the disabled person as a person that is all that really matters. Treat everyone with respect. The disability does not change core of who the person is, but the disability is also a very important part of our life experience. We all have the same humanity inside us. Friendship, love, and honesty are the way to break barriers to inclusion! Not assumptions. It is my hope that my current and future work can let all people know that disabled people have rights and disabled people have lives that are fulfilling.


77 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cerebral Palsy Awareness (guest post by Margot)

This is a guest post by Margot. I do not have autism. I’m a disability advocate and filmmaker with Cerebral Palsy. March is Cerebral Palsy Awareness month in the United States. I have Cerebral Palsy.

Disability in the media (guest post by Margot)

This is a guest post by Margot. I wrote an essay similar to this post for a class assignment around the year 2017. Disability Media Portrayal In media with disabled characters featured in the piece of

bottom of page